Week 7: myProsthesis Critique

BeStill is a collaborative prototype prosthetic, created and designed by Abigail Murphy and myself. Abby focused mainly on creating the models for this project, I focused on their printing, and we both constructed and finished the prosthetic.

The prosthetic intends to help stabilize shaky hands by providing a surface for the hand to rest on without requiring a grounded object. Instead, the surface and the hand are supported against the forearm of the wearer. This could be useful for artists, allowing a steady hand without having to rest their hand on their art and risk smudging. It could be a useful support for those with tremors or arthritis. It could even be useful in medical practice to allow for steady hands at various angles.

I wore our prosthetic for display during the EDP Expo, and I found it worked rather well. It was surprisingly comfortable and effective. The major points that I found to consider for the next iteration were that the foam, while comfortable, was not very breathable and became rather warm, and that our locking joint, while sturdy, was difficult to adjust. I think finding a joint that is both sturdy and easily adjustable would be an important component going forwards.

Overall I am happy with the BeStill. As a prototype allowing for steadier hands, I think it is quite successful.

Our final prototype, displayed by Abby.

Leave a comment